Skip to content

Cozy and Bright

January 1, 2010

After about 15ish years of crocheting I’ve finally learned to follow a pattern. Up till now I pretty much only worked the chain stitch and the double crochet (sort of), and made blankets, scarves, or things in the round. I’ve never counted stitches. But I absolutely fell in love with this blanket and decided I would at least try out granny squares so I could maybe make my own. And as you can see in the picture above I did try, and it turns out I love granny squares! Yes, there’s a little bit of counting but I can manage, even with the TV on. I’ve completed six squares so far. I’m looking forward to this little project to keep me busy for the rest of the winter, and for the nice bright blanket I’ll have to show at the end.

I am using two tutorials from Carina’s Craftblog. The granny square tutorial is here, and the joining tutorial is here. Be sure to check out the rest of her site while you’re there – she has some beautiful things, including some fantastic embroidery patterns.

(As I was taking pictures of my basket of yarn and first few granny squares one of my cats decided to curl up on the blanket amidst it all – I couldn’t resist such a sweet moment!)

One Comment
  1. January 3, 2010 5:06 am

    So happy to see a new blog for you, Sarah! Woo to the hoo!

    🙂

Comments are closed.

