Skip to content

yarn in the round

January 7, 2010

This year for the holidays I got overly ambitious and decided to create an entire new set of decorations. I wanted to use a lot of yarns and felts and some wood so it would all feel cozy and warm.  The end result was not quite as I had hoped – as usual things like going to sleep at night, going to work, and general life stuff interfered with my grandiose plans. However I did make one piece I am thrilled with.  The wreath that will stay on my front door all winter turned out exactly as I imagined.  Initially I planned to wrap my wreath form with wool roving, but I didn’t have enough white in my stash, so I made do with what I did have – yarn!   The flowers and owls were made from bits of wool sweaters and socks I felted after I moved down here to Texas.  I’m completely tickled with the finished product – it makes me happy every time I come home!

I’m hoping to get a head start on next year by working on my decorations and presents earlier. One thing I plan is mini versions of this wreath. I finished two that made it onto packages this year (no I didn’t photograph them – darn it!) and they are great! I stocked up on the styrofoam wreath forms at the after Christmas sale. I can’t wait to share the finished products with you!

8 Comments
  1. Terah permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:28 am

    I absolutely love this! It’s so bright and, well, cozy. A very nice “welcome home.”

  2. January 7, 2010 8:13 pm

    So, so cute. Happy New Year!

  3. January 7, 2010 9:22 pm

    Thanks Terah and Ann Marie! Happy new year to you both!

  4. January 7, 2010 10:49 pm

    i looooove it!

  5. Hope permalink
    January 8, 2010 5:17 am

    This wreath is lovely! I too didn’t get half the presents created that I wanted to and was thinking (as I seem to every year) that if I just do a few creations every month I’ll be set by Christmas. Let’s see how that goes for me!!

  6. January 11, 2010 6:57 am

    Thanks Lillian!
    Hope – I know exactly what you mean – I hope we can both stay on task! Here’s hoping for an easy Christmas in 2010!

  7. Stacey permalink
    January 14, 2010 12:37 am

    I had to look up felting and how to to do it after I saw this post. You never cease to impress me, these guys are too cute and what a brillant use of sweaters and socks you no longer need.

  8. January 14, 2010 7:47 am

    Hi Stacey! You know I tried a couple of times on “cold” days down here to wear my wool sweaters, and it’s really just a lost cause. Ditto on the wool socks, so felting it is!

Comments are closed.

