Skip to content

Mmmmm…Pear Tarts!

January 12, 2010

Saturday night when we stayed warm with chili & cornbread, we finished our meal with pear tarts. I was super excited because I got to break in two of my Christmas presents – mini tart pans and an apple peeler/corer/slicer. I thought I recalled seeing an apple tart recipe on Smitten Kitchen so I popped over there and found this beauty. I found a big bag of crisp pears at Costco and decided to substitute them for the apples. I also picked up some refrigerated pie crust dough to make this a REALLY quick dessert. After cutting myself on the apple contraption (doesn’t matter, I LOVE IT!) I managed to perfectly peel, core and slice four pears. I quartered the sliced pears and tossed them with a little lemon juice, then brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. I cut the crust into circles about an inch larger than the tart pans and laid it inside, with the extra hanging over the edges. I filled each mini tart with as many pears as each would hold, then flopped the extra pie crust over (I’m saying it’s rustic, not messy…). I brushed the entire top of the tarts (crust, pears and all) with melted butter, then sprinkled with white sugar and baked at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes. Then we served them warm with vanilla ice cream! Mmmmmm….
Β 
Oh yeah, I didn’t grease the tart pans – mistake! Grease your tart pans! And bake on a silpat, or foil, or waxed paper or something, unless you want globs of caramelized sugar on your cookie sheet!

Hubby says “mmmm, leftovers!”

2 Comments
  1. January 27, 2010 7:09 am

    Hiee there! So happy to have found your new blog! I was missing you for a long while! πŸ™‚ The tarts looks yummie and your hubby is so cute at that picture. πŸ™‚ Have a lovely merry happy week and love to yoU!

  2. January 27, 2010 9:45 pm

    Thanks so much Jacqueline! they were and he is πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

