Skip to content

Grandpa liked to dress up…

February 3, 2010

Warren C. Echols, Flower Girl

Since I told you all about my sweet grandmother, I thought I’d also devote a moment to my grandfather. Grandpa Echols liked to dress up. Every year at Christmas he went to his bedroom “to take a nap.”  He shut the door, and a few minutes later Santa Claus would show up at the front door. I saw the tail end of him one year, sneaking out the back door. The original of the photo above is an 8×10 that was framed and displayed in my grandparents house. Grandpa and the guys at the Methodist church held regular mock weddings. I personally think Grandpa makes the best flower girl ever! Don’t you? Now, there was a man who really embraced the role!

6 Comments
  1. February 3, 2010 5:13 am

    Too funny!

  2. steve murray permalink
    February 3, 2010 9:12 am

    I guess you know that when Grampaw (and Grammaw) had to move in with your mom and abi and I there was very little laughing. Dang, I knew Grampaw loved to cut up and laugh, but those were mostly some tense years. Oh well, I hope he and grammaw are having tons of fun now in Heaven.

  3. February 3, 2010 10:03 pm

    I think Grandpa’s sense of humor got tired and took a nap there at the end. I’m glad those rough days are over! But it’s nice to remember that he had a funny side.

  4. Hope permalink
    February 3, 2010 10:06 pm

    What an amazing photograph. The contrast of the bow in the hair and the watch on the hairy arm is just priceless. Again, thanks for sharing!

  5. February 5, 2010 12:55 am

    The watch just jumps out, doesn’t it? And how about that wig!

  6. Beth permalink
    February 6, 2010 5:18 am

    Even in a dress, he still looks like Clark Gable!!!

Comments are closed.

