Skip to content

beautiful day

February 22, 2010

Wow, today is exactly the kind of day that makes me forget all about missing snow and real cold winter weather. It’s absolutely gorgeous outside – the sky is blue, the clouds are few and wispy, the sun is bright. It’s 74 degrees and the wind is just gusty enough to tickle the windchimes. I broke out the flip flops (my husband’s been wearing his all winter – native Austinite) and even painted my toenails (OPI, louvre me, louvre me not, purple with a little bit of sparkly).  I ran out to the gas station on the corner to fill up my tank and get some fresh caffeine, and the sidewalks were filled with people walking their dogs, kids rollerskating (seriously, some old-school four-wheel skates), couples strolling along holding hands.  Everyone came out to enjoy the sunny weather.

I sat outside for a while, till I felt my face starting to burn (super pale Sarah) and the colors in my vision had all been bleached out by the sun. I used to spend all summer lying in the sun with a book, a radio and a glass of ice water, back when summers meant freedom and leisure. I miss that – miss the feeling of baking in the sun all day, dozing and reading. One of the local radio stations even announced every half hour “time to turn, so you don’t burn!”  Maybe I’ll try to grab a few rays more often this year. Vitamin D is important, you know.

Sending you folks up north some sun and sky! Miss you all!

4 Comments
  1. Terah permalink
    February 22, 2010 8:18 am

    That’s it…I’m moving to Austin!

  2. February 22, 2010 11:32 pm

    Ah yes, yesterday was fabulous. Spent every moment I could outside. Always reminds me why I live here when we have days this nice and warm in the middle of February. Might get snow tomorrow though, which just goes to remind us all how crazy central Texas weather can be.

  3. steve murray permalink
    February 24, 2010 7:09 am

    that was yesterday… today it’s snowing? keep austin weird!

  4. Hope permalink
    February 26, 2010 6:40 am

    I’m a few days behind on your post but just thought I’d let you know we have almost a foot of snow on the ground and are expecting another foot or so tonight….oh, and 50+ mph winds!

Comments are closed.

