Skip to content

Family & Home

March 19, 2010

Do you like my new header? My sister took some photos of a house my mom made out clay several years ago. She then fiddled with the colors and added a fabric textured background, some flowers and some text, and voila! A new header!  I love it – the colors and textures, the fact that it’s a product of Mom’s and Abi’s creativity.  I hope that it feels welcoming, as home always should.

I chose the name for this blog because I like the idea of returning home safely after an adventure or an outing. For me it’s important to have that feeling of comfort, and the knowledge that I have a home base from which to explore the world. Yes, this means in part the physical building I live in, but it also means the place where my family is, where I feel comfortable and relaxed, and where my stuff is.

That’s what I want to talk about here. For me this means everything stereotypically “homey” – decorating, cleaning, cooking, crafting, gardening and entertaining. Also family, both past and present, blood relatives, furry and friends who’ve been adopted. Comfort, love, and – yes – stuff.  And of course, the adventures out in the world that make coming home so great!

3 Comments
  1. Hope permalink
    March 20, 2010 1:15 am

    I love the new header. What a cute house. And I love that it is a fusion of your Mom and your sister’s creative work!

  2. March 20, 2010 3:21 am

    It is so, so cute. Perfect for your blog. And the fact that your Mom made it and sister photographed it, perfect even more so!

  3. March 20, 2010 10:42 pm

    Thanks you guys, I’m just tickled with it.

Comments are closed.

