Skip to content

Plant a Seed – Giveaway

March 19, 2010

 

My mom, who likes to play in the dirt, has graciously offered to share the fruits (or in this case the seeds) of her labor with my readers. Last year Mom planted some hyacinth bean vine seeds that she got from my Aunt Barbara. This amazingly fast-growing vine shot up to cover the 8 foot privacy fence, then grew up into the trees, reaching almost 15 feet by the end of the growing season. It’s beautiful and fragrant flowers were everywhere for months! They die in the winter (the frost will get them) and self-seed (unless you harvest all the beans!).  You can click on the photos above to be directed to a site that sells the seeds if you want to learn more about them or purchase some of your own. (I can’t believe we forgot to take pictures of mom’s vine! Oh well, thanks to Turtlegaby’s Tropical Oasis on eCrater for the pics and link!)

Mom donated fifty seeds, and I put together five packets of ten seeds each, complete with growing instructions.  Leave a comment (maybe share a gardening story?) and next Thursday, March 25th I’ll use random.org to choose five winners. Good Luck!

Happy Spring!

2 Comments
  1. Hope permalink
    March 20, 2010 1:17 am

    I am just happy to report that my hubby tilled up the garden plot by the side of our house over the past few days. It finally is starting to feel like spring. There is still snow in the long term forecast but for now it is in the 60s and sunny. We were just picking what hot peppers we want to grow this year. I was planning to put in a seed order today.

  2. March 26, 2010 11:55 pm

    Well, Hope, you win! I’m going to send you ALL FIVE packets of seeds. That way you’ll have some to plant and some to share. Mom threw in some rock rose seeds too, and I’ll send the growing instructions for all. Thanks for commenting, and good growing!

Comments are closed.

