Skip to content

Spring Cleaning, With Checklists

April 6, 2010
Fresh and Clean
Fresh and Clean by blossomdaily on Polyvore.com

It may be cliche, but this time of year I want my house to be spotless and fresh. I want to dig in and clean out the closet, wash the windows, shampoo the rugs, and change out the linens.  This year I’ve run into a bit of a problem with this. My sweet hubby is in the midst of preparations for a comics and collectibles show.  We’re planning for this to be very successful, which means we’re planning to sell a lot of stuff, which means we have to have a lot of stuff. Unfortunately, that also means we have to have a lot of stuff in the living room. And dining room. And spare bedroom/office. 

I’ve found that since I can’t attack the spaces I want to, I’ve been a bit discouraged and haven’t even tried cleaning the spaces I can get to.  But this itch won’t be denied, and I decided I need to figure out how to motivate myself to tackle some serious spring cleaning.

So of course, I turned to Martha Stewart. (I adore Martha, and the perfection she dangles in front of all of the rest of us. The fact that it’s completely ridiculous and impossible just means that I won’t get too hung up on trying to get there, just use it as inspiration.)  True to form, Ms. Stewart has a slew of printable checklists to help with every aspect of cleaning you could imagine. I started there, but after some googling I discovered something kind of fabulous.  Organized Home has a lovely little project idea – a household notebook. The true beauty of this idea is that it is completely customizable. You put in it whatever you need in your home, and if you want you can print some of the free pages and checklists they have available on their site.

After starting my brainstorming for the sections of my new household planner I clicked around the site and ended up at an article building a case AGAINST spring cleaning, in favor of year-round cleaning on your own schedule. (Check – added to the list!)  Perhaps by next spring my house will have remained sparkly and fresh year-round, and come spring time I can just change the decor!

2 Comments
  1. Hope permalink
    April 9, 2010 8:06 pm

    This is a little random but connected to the theme of cleaning! I have a Swiffer Wet Jet because I hoped it would make mopping easy enough that I could handle it. But I hate the scents of the bottles of cleaners and I’ve heard they leave a residue that is dangerous for pets. I’ve decided that I want to cut a hole in the now empty container and fill it with some homemade mix, maybe just vinegar and water, and stick a cork in it. And then I can benefit from the ease of the thing without the smell I don’t like. Thoughts?

  2. April 10, 2010 5:17 am

    That’s a great idea! I’ve been trying to drag my husband out of the chemical world – it’s a slow process. (to be honest it’s been slow for me too – I’m so used to using that stuff)

    I’ve got a book around here somewhere with recipes for various cleaning solutions – I’ll dig around and see what I can find and post it for you. I’m sure the vinegar/water combination would work well – you could also always add a few drops of a dog-safe essential oil to make it smell good.

Comments are closed.

