Skip to content

My Miniature Life

May 3, 2010

Pulling out my miniatures to photograph for Friday’s post has my mind whirling and spinning in tiny little currents, about tiny little things. That dollhouse my parents built me and my mom’s can-do attitude when it came to creating anything we could think up, combined with my inherited obsession with all things small (thanks Dad!), turned me into a miniature fanatic. I have random bits and pieces I’ve saved tucked away in a shoebox. I don’t make much anymore in the way of miniatures, but I still tend to buy tiny treasures when I come across them. I promise myself when I buy them that one day I’ll redo the dollhouse, or at least create a roombox. I don’t know if I’ll get to it until I have a little one of my own (hopefully) that wants to play. But I just can’t help myself.

So, because I ran across these bits while looking for the pieces in my post below I thought I’d go ahead and photograph them. (Ok, yeah, it was an excuse to play with my miniatures.)  And since I took some pictures, how can I not share them with you? I hope you like my little things.

I forgot to put my “scale” object into some of the photos.  The paper bag is a copy of a real bookstore bag from Taylor Books, an independent bookstore I worked at for years. On a particularly slow day I used a small paper sack and a bookmark to recreate the bag in miniature. I may not have pulled this out but the store, and owners, have been on my mind lately. Dr. Saville, husband of owner Ann, sadly just passed away.  

The little pillows and patchwork teddy bear were handmade with scraps of fabric and stuffed with cottonballs one weekend buried in my dorm room because of a blizzard outside.  I worked on the sewing supplies in anticipation of a roombox that never happened. I accidentally ran across my “thread spools” when I stepped on a printer cartridge and found these little plastic gems inside. I saved them for over a year to have enough for my sewing kit!  Also pictured are a real horsehair basket my parents brought me, some miniature dice my grandfather had, and a tiny pocketknife that opens and closes found at a garage sale. Oh, and my tiny crystals (how cool are they??) and carved log with mushrooms I bought on my honemoon at Tamarack.

3 Comments
  1. Hope permalink
    May 3, 2010 5:20 pm

    What a lovely little collection and a nice tribute to Dr. Saville, who will be missed!

  2. May 4, 2010 9:37 am

    Thank you Hope!

Trackbacks

  1. Daily Blossom « Blossomdaily

Comments are closed.

