Skip to content

Homemade Salsa

June 29, 2011

My father in law’s garden had a bumper crop earlier this month. Most of the first harvest is about over, but we’ll be enjoying the fruits of his labor all year, through the gallons of salsa I made this weekend. I used Grandma Katy’s salsa recipe. I’ve used it before, but usually I mess with it. This time I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, and tasting it brought me right back to grandma’s porch and time spent with family. If you’d like to try it I’ve cut the quantities down a bit and the recipe is below. If you decide to can this, I’d suggest using directions for high acid foods on the Ball website, freshperserving.com. I process this for 15 minutes.

2 onions, diced
3 green peppers, seeded and chopped
6 jalapenos, chopped
6 banana peppers
8 cups of peeled, chopped tomatoes (6-10 tomatoes)
3 cloves garlic, diced
2 tablespoons salt
8 tablespoons sugar
8 tablespoons vinegar

Peel tomatoes – core first, then boil a few at a time for 30 seconds to one minute, then move to bowl of ice water. The skins will slide right off. Chop tomatoes, seed and chop peppers, and dice garlic. Cook everything together for 45 minutes, then either process in a hot water bath for 15 minutes or refrigerate for up to 3 months.

I suggest seeding all but one or two jalapenos and banana peppers – the more seeds the hotter the salsa. Also, WEAR GLOVES when you cut up the peppers. Seriously. Because if you don’t, even after you’ve washed your hands several times, ANYTHING you touch will burn like fire otherwise.

4 Comments
  1. Hope permalink
    June 30, 2011 1:47 am

    Happy to see you back again!

  2. Terah permalink
    July 11, 2011 8:09 pm

    Yay, you’re back! Tim and I have been debating canning some salsa. This might have just made up my mind šŸ™‚

    • July 11, 2011 11:55 pm

      I think it’s so cool that this old recipe for “relish” from the hills of West Virginia represents as salsa in Texas. Let me know if you make it and how it turns out!

Comments are closed.

