Skip to content

Vintage Goodies

July 21, 2011

Vintage patterns, tennis balls, a school map and some pictures...

This past weekend I got a booth at the Citywide Garage Sale`.  A couple of years ago I started buying vintage stuff while I was out with my hubby on comic and toy hunting expeditions. I’ve amassed quite a collection of cool stuff, from Fire King mugs to Vera scarves, portable bar sets, figurines, fans and so many more things. We had a great time, selling stuff and chatting with buyers and vendors alike.

I discovered that most of what I bought will sell (awesome!) and my prices are competitive. I also discovered that exhibitors get pretty good prices from other exhibitors, for the most part. I did actually manage to make a profit, despite my purchases!

Milk glass spice jars, pyrex, and California souvenir cocktail forks and knives!

I only took a few quick photos right before they opened the doors, sorry for the poor quality. I promise I’ll take better pictures in the future. I also plan to get together a much better looking booth. I had so much going on at my day job I didn’t really plan for the booth, and let my husband take care of things like tablecloths and shelves. I’d like something a little nicer looking, but I want to keep the setup simple. I’ll let you know what I come up with.

The funny part of all of this is that I have boxes and boxes of stuff packed away to sell. My husband (my hero!) pulled all of the boxes out of his parents shed, and I kept saying that I really thought I had more stuff. Since I could only afford one space this time, it worked out well with a smaller amount of stuff, but as I was unpacking I realized I’m missing tons of stuff! My portable bar sets are nowhere to be found! And I have an awesome monkey wood tiki serving tower that we can’t find. Not to mention A TON of vintage Pyrex, at least 30 linen calendar tea towels from the 60s, 70s and 80s, and quite a bit of tupperware. So, the next show should be awesome, if we can find the stuff! I’ve got to do some digging, and if we find it I might spend a little more to get two spaces so I can get it all out and sold.

I am really excited that this hobby has the potential to make a little money. The work is just one weekend a month (if that) and the fun (buying cool stuff at garage sales and thrift stores) is ongoing. I think I’ll keep this up for a while!

Comments are closed.

