Skip to content

Buffy Slays

November 9, 2011

Most of the folks who know me know of my love for all things Joss Whedon. First, foremost, and especially – Buffy. And since the show was cancelled a while ago (I refuse to acknowledge the actual number of years, for it will make me feel old) my Buffy fixes have been mostly just rewatching episodes over and over again. This, however, is a banner week for Buffy fans living in Austin. This week is just downright Buffy-tastic.

Last night the hubby and I met friends at The Highball here in south Austin for Teen Angst Tuesday and a special live performance of “The Prom” – the senior prom episode from season 3 of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. It was downright awesome. The folks from The Institution Theater went all out, including some hilarious “commercials.” I wish I had taken some pictures, but I was having too much fun and forgot completely. By the way – the food was pretty good too. Hubby and I shared a burger and onion rings, and I tried some oysters from across the table – all yummy.

This weekend is Austin Comic Con and I’m pretty excited, because a whole slew of Buffy folks will be there, including James Marsters – AKA Spike (and lots of other cool characters, but hey – we’re talking about Buffy here). In addition to the slew, there will be some Buffy panels to sit in on. I expect to stand in line a lot, but it will be worth it.

OK. On top of all of this awesomeness I just managed to snag (through a fabulous friend) tickets to the sold out Buffy Sing-Along at the Alamo Drafthouse on Saturday! When I first moved to Austin I went to several of these lovely events, but somewhere along the way some issues arose with rights to show episode, and sadly my favorite sing-along went away. Not only do we get to sing our hearts out, we also get to watch “Hush” – the only Buffy episode ever nominated for an Emmy. And on top of that, Mr. Marsters is introducing both. I am having a complete geek out. I know I’m bordering on unbearable about this (sorry sweetie!) but how often does this sort of Buffy extravaganza happen these days? Not often enough, that’s for sure.

2 Comments
  1. Hope permalink
    November 19, 2011 4:49 pm

    Just caught up on the past few postings! Good to see you back on here again. It is so fun to read and the photos are lovely as always. That cupcake creation bar sounds fun. And all this Buffy is exciting! Take care!

    • November 23, 2011 9:13 pm

      Thanks Hope, glad you’re enjoying my ramblings. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

Comments are closed.

