Skip to content

Crafty Christmas: Glass Ornaments

December 12, 2011

If you’ve been to a craft store around the holidays I’m sure you’ve seen towering stacks of these glass ornaments in a variety of shapes and sizes. Every couple of years I pick some up and make something out of them – usually to attach to packages full of sweet treats. I’m making ornaments again this year, so I thought I’d share what I’m making, as well as some other ideas you might be able to use to make your own nifty (and cheap!) ornaments for your own tree, or for gifts!

I wait until these glass balls go on sale at my local Hobby Lobby before I buy them. It seems that every other week during November and December they’re 40% or 50% off, and it’s worth the wait to me. Other supplies you’ll need depend on how you want to use your ornaments. I’m going to make some for my tree that are very similar to the candles I made earlier this week – using micro beads and double-sided tape and adhesive dots. I won’t walk through that again here – just click over to my earlier post to see the process – it’s exactly the same!

Over the weekend I dug through my mom’s ornaments for a few to use around the house (since mine are all packed away and buried right now). I came across this ornament that I made for my first Christmas in my own place. That year my roommate and I made bunches of ornaments, but this is the only one I can find now. It’s a simple process – white glue drawn on the glass in a design, then sprinkled with glitter. I thought I’d make a few more this year to tie on to packages. I used a small paintbrush and a toothpick alternately to draw on my design on the ornament above, but I got lazy and just squirted the glue right out of the bottle onto the glass today.

I worked in sections, and let the first part dry completely before turning it over and working on the next.  It took about four turns to get the whole thing done, using the container the ornaments originally came in to hold them while they dry. I think last time I rigged a skewer that I could hang them on while they dried – I just wasn’t that organized this time!

I took this picture at World Market – I’m not going to make these this year, but I thought it was a great idea. A square glass ornament has a picture decoupaged on the back (facing forward) and glitter was used on the sides to “frame” the picture. I think this would be a great way to repurpose old holiday cards – I can’t seem to make myself get rid of them! If any of you decide to make these I’d love to see how they turn out!

I have another glass ornament project I’ll be sharing with you later on in the week, when I can dig everything out to photograph it. I’m going to squeeze in as much crafty fun as I can before Christmas! Happy crafting everyone!

Comments are closed.

