Skip to content

Magical Woodland Ornaments

December 19, 2011

I made these ornaments last year to go with my “woodland” themed goodie baskets (I love a theme!). These were a pretty last-minute project. I think I made them a few days before Christmas, so some of the materials were on sale ridiculously cheap. I got the flatter round ornaments, mostly because I felt the glass was a little thicker than the globe version, but I think they were perfect for these. I bought one package of mixed mosses and an assortment of wild-looking holiday picks (these were 80% off I think – most were under $.20 each!). I used Aleene’s Quick Dry Tacky Glue and a skewer to glue the different elements in.

Before starting, cut up your floral picks into smaller pieces that will fit easily inside your ornament. Start with the moss – apply a decent amount pf glue to the bottom inside of the ornament, being careful not to get it all over the sides of the ornament. Next, roll up a small piece of moss, enough to cover the bottom, and stuff it into the hole in the top of the ornament. I used a clean skewer and a pair of hemostats (scissor looking things with flat, ridged tips that grip together) to guide the moss into place.

Once it was where I wanted it I used the blunt end of the skewer to tamp it down into the glue so it would set. Next I chose the leaves and fronds I wanted to make up my mini landscape. Most ornaments had three pieces (odd numbers look best, right?). Again I applied a gob of glue first with a skewer, then I used the hemostats to shove the floral bits into the ornament, and get that bottom end right into the glue. These dried overnight, then the cap went back on, and a bit of ribbon was attached to the top for hanging.

I also did a few tiny ornaments with just some moss inside. They were all a huge hit, if I do say so myself! My sister has hers on her “Alice in Wonderland” themed Christmas tree this year! You can see more photos of her tree on her website, lucidbee.com.

Comments are closed.

